↑ Return to Presidents Emeriti

Tanja Masson-Zwaan

Tanja Masson-ZwaanMrs Tanja Masson-Zwaan (Netherlands)

President Emeritus

Tanja Masson-Zwaan is Assistant Professor and Deputy Director of the International Institute of Air and Space Law at Leiden University. Tanja has specialised in the field of air and space law since 25 years. She currently teaches air and space law in the advanced Masters programme (LLM) in air and space law of Leiden University, and carries out various research activities. She is the President of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL) since 2007 and has published papers on a variety of topics over the years. She lectures on space law all over the world, advises the Dutch government and other national and international bodies on matters relating to space law, and attends the sessions of the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space as an observer. In August 2012, she was appointed by the Dutch Government as an Arbitrator with the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague in the framework of the Optional Rules for Arbitration of Disputes Relating to Outer Space Activities.

After obtaining her masters degree in international law, she was Co-Director of the International Institute of Air and Space Law (IIASL) at Leiden University from 1985-1990. Tanja spent almost 15 years abroad before returning to the Institute in 2008. During her expatriation, she set up and taught courses in air and space law at the National University of Singapore, worked as a consultant in France for industrial and institutional clients, and served many years as Executive Secretary of the IISL. She created Adastra Consulting after having moved back to The Netherlands in 2004 and worked as an independent consultant on various projects in the fields of air and space law.

Tanja is a recipient of the Distinguished Service Award of the IISL (2001) and of the Social Sciences Award of the International Academy of Astronautics, IAA (2008).

She is a member of various professional organisations such as the International Astronautical Academy (IAA, Full Member), the Académie de l’air et de l’espace (ANAE, France), the International Law Association (ILA, including its Space Law Committee and the Netherlands’ Branch NVIR), the European Centre for Space Law (ECSL), of which she was a Board Member from 1989 – 1996. She is Vice Chairman of the Netherlands Space Society (NVR), an Adviser to Mars One, a Faculty member of the London Insitute of space policy and law, and Member of the Advisory Board of Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC), and of the Asian Journal of Air and Space Law (National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata, India). She served as a Member of the Founding Board of Women in Aerospace-Europe (2009-2012) and as Member of the Advisory Board of HE Space Operations (2010-2012).