Return to Board of directors

Honorary Directors

On recommendation of the Board of Directors, outgoing Members of the Board who have made outstanding contributions to international cooperation in the peaceful uses of outer space, or to the development of space law, and who have served for several succeeding terms and have contributed substantially to the work of the Institute, may be elected for life as Honorary Directors by the General Assembly. Honorary Directors are not Members of the Board but may attend the meetings of the Board of Directors as observers and provide consultation on matters relating to the management of the Institute.

  • Prof. Dr Karl-Heinz Böckstiegel (Germany)
  • Dr Stephen E. Doyle (United States)
  • Dr Ernst Fasan (Austria)
  • Prof. Jonathan Galloway (United States)
  • Dr Peter Jankowitsch (Austria)
  • Prof. Toshio Kosuge (Japan)
  • Prof. Francis Lyall (United Kingdom)
  • Prof. Jose Monserrat, Filho (Brazil)
  • Dr Sylvia Ospina (Colombia)
  • H.E. Judge Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russia)
  • Amb. Eugeniusz Wyzner (Poland)
  • Prof. Sergio Marchisio (Italy)



2011 IISL Board of Directors

Sergio Marchisio

Prof. Sergio Marchisio (Italy) Director current term: 2016-2019 Full Professor of International Law and Space Law, Sapienza University of Rome (1997-). Member of the Scientific Committee of the Master IDEST, Droit des Activités Spatiales et des Télécommunications, Université Paris Saclay (2002-). Co-Founder and Coordinator of the Master Course in Space Policy and Institutions organized by …