2004 Lachs Moot winners

2004 Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

The 2004 competition again broke records for its size, involving a total of 21 teams from the Asia Pacific, 9 teams from Europe and 8 teams from North America.

The world semi-final was held on 5 October between the National Law School of India University and Georgetown University (United States). The world final was held in Vancouver.

The 2004 problem, Case Concerning the Commercialisation of a Space Station (Palladia v Zirconia), was written by Dr Andrew Farand (France), Mr Ricky J. Lee (Australia) and Dr Frans von der Dunk (Netherlands).

For more information about the competition, please visit the dedicated website at https://www.iislweb.org/lachsmoot.


University of Leiden (Netherlands)
Ioana Cristoiu, Nathanael Horsley and Taras Ploshchansky


Georgetown University (United States)
Melissa Beiting and Matthew Getz


National Law School of India University (India)
Aditya Sudarshan, Shadan Farasat and Surabhi Ranganathan

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

University of Leiden (Netherlands)

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Melissa Beiting (United States)

Members of the International Court of Justice judging the World Finals

Judge Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone)
Judge Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russia)
Judge Francisco Rezek (Brazil)

Semi-Final Judges

Prof. Stephan Hobe (Germany)
Mr Steven Freeland (Australia)
Ms Marcia Smith (United States)


commercial exploitation of celestial bodies and related issues


Click here to download