2003 Lachs Moot winners

2003 Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

The 2003 competition saw the participation of 13 teams in the Asia Pacific, 5 teams in Europe and 7 teams in North America.

The world semi-final was held on 30 September between the University of Bremen (Germany) and the University of Auckland (New Zealand). The world final was held on 1 October 2003 at the Langericht of Bremen.

The 2003 problem, Case Concerning The Mineral Exploitation of Boznêmcová And Related Incidents (Vesta v Ceres), was written by Mr. Ricky J. Lee (Australia) and Mr. Michael E. Davis (Australia).

University of Auckland
(2003 winners)


University of Auckland (New Zealand)
Jesse Wilson and Isaac Hikaka


Georgetown University (United States)
Amanda Shafer, Petra Vorwig and Melissa Beiting


University of Bremen (Germany)
Deirdre Ni Chearbhaill, Kamlesh Gungaphul and Giorgi Kavtaradze

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

University of Bremen (Germany)

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Petra Vorwig (United States)

Members of the International Court of Justice judging the World Finals

Judge Gilbert Guillaume (France)
Judge Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone)
Judge Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russia)

Semi-Final Judges

Prof. Stephan Hobe (Germany)
Ms Marcia Smith (United States)
Dr Olivier Ribbelink (Netherlands)


commercial exploitation of celestial bodies and related issues


Click here to download