2002 Lachs Moot winners

2002 Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

In the largest Lachs Moot to date, the 2002 competition attracted the participation of 11 teams in the Asia Pacific, 7 teams in Europe and 5 teams in North America.

The world semi-final was held on 15 October between Georgetown University (United States) and the University of Warwick (United Kingdom). The world final was held on 17 October 2002 at the University of Houston.

The 2002 problem, Case Concerning International Liability (Utopia v Friendlistan), was written by Dr Ram Jakhu (Canada), Dr William Wirin (United States) and Dr John Gantt (United States).


Georgetown University (United States)
Victoria Williams, Kelly Gable and Petra Vorwig


University of New South Wales (Australia)
Victoria-Anne Davidson, Caroline Ang and Johanna O’Rourke


University of Warwick (United Kingdom)
Sethu Nandakumar and Sagee Sasikumar

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

University of New South Wales (Australia)

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Victoria Williams (United States)

Judging the World Finals

Judge Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone)
Judge Thomas Buergenthal (United States)
Judge Nabil Elaraby (Egypt)

Semi-Final Judges

Prof. Ernst Fasan (Austria)
Prof. Joanne Gabrynowicz (United States)
Dr Sylvia Ospina (Colombia)


Click here to download