Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Finals 2020 – Valenkova v SaRidia

Moot Court Finals were held on Friday, 23 October 2020 at 3 pm (CEST). Pleading the case of Valenkova v SaRidia were the National Law University, Delhi (Asia-Pacific) and the University of Vienna (Europe). Shubh Arora and Abhishek Jain argued on behalf of NLU Delhi (Applicant). Hristina Talkova and Rosanna Hoffman argued on behalf of the University of Vienna (Respondent). The Finals were judged by three ICJ Judges, H.E. Judge Peter Tomka (President), H.E. Judge Joan Donoghue and H.E. Judge Kirill Gevorgian. Prof. Joanne Gabrynowicz provided a summary of the Problem and an explanation of the clever naming scheme for the actors and vehicles involved. The proceedings were hosted by ECSL (Chehineze Bouafia) via an online video platform. The video recording of the World Finals will be made available soon.

Winning Team:
This year’s winner of the Manfred Lachs Trophy for Winning Team, Lee Love Award, Plaque and Certificates will be presented to the National Law University, Delhi (NLU-Delhi):

Abhishek Jain (oral pleading) Shubh Arora (oral pleading)
And their teammate Anmol Dhawan

The Runner-up Team:
The University of Vienna will be presented with a Commemorative Plaque and Certificates for the first runner up to the moot court championship:

Hristina Talkova (oral pleading) Rosanna Hoffman (oral pleading)
And their teammate Katharina Harreiter

Best Memorials:
The Eilene Galloway award for Best Memorials, a trophy plate and certificates will be presented to the University of Vienna.

Best Oralist:
In accordance with the decision of the ICJ judges based on the oral pleadings in the World Finals competition, the Sterns and Tennen Award for best oralist, trophy plate and certificate will be presented to Hristina Talkova of the University of Vienna.