2011 Lachs Moot winners

The 2011 competition had over 40 participating teams: 8 from Europe, 10 from North America, including one invited team from South America (Colombia) and 24 from the Asia-Pacific region.

The World Finals were held on 6 October 2011 at the High Court of Cape Town, South Africa.

The prospect of holding the World Finals of the Manfred Lachs Moot Court Competition on the African continent for the first time presented the IISL with the opportunity to expand the moot court experience to schools which have not previously participated in the Competition. Teams from Kenya, Nigeria and South Africa participated in the African Introductory Round. Preliminary rounds were held on 5 October, and the two highest scoring teams competed in a Final Round on 6 October, prior to the World Finals. The IISL Board of Directors decided to create a new African Regional Round for the Competition beginning in 2012.

The 2011 problem was the Case concerning Environmental Contamination and Harmful Interference in Space Activities (Zuris v. Nova Freedonia) written by Dr Patricia Sterns and Dr Les Tennen (United States).

For more information about the competition, please visit the dedicated website at https://www.iislweb.org/lachsmoot.

Scroll down to see the video of the 2011 finals at the bottom of the page.

Winner, Lee Love Award

Florida State University College of Law (USA)
Ms Tanya Cronau, Ms Lynn Guery and Ms Anne Marie Rossi
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Nat Stern


National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Ms Navleen Kaur, Ms Mrinalini Singh and Mr Firas Mohamed A.M. Alsuwaigh
Faculty Advisor: Prof. Lim Lei Theng


Saint Petersburg State University, Russian Federation
Ms Maria Kiskachi and Mr Maxim Usynin
Faculty Advisor: Ms. Ksenia Shestakova.

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

National University of Singapore

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Ms Navleen Kaur, National University of Singapore

Semi-Final Judges

Prof. Dr Maureen Williams, (Argentina/United Kingdom), Professor, University of Buenos Aires/Conicet; Chair, Space Law Committee, International Law Association, London
Prof. Toshio Kosuge (Japan), Professor Emeritus, University of Electro-Communication; Professor, Digitalhollywood University and IISL Director
Prof. Dr Frans von der Dunk (The Netherlands), Professor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA, College of Law and IISL Director

Final Judges

H.E. Mme. Judge Hanqin Xue, International Court of Justice
H.E. Judge Abdul Koroma, International Court of Justice
H.E. Judge Peter Tomka, International Court of Justice



Obafemi Awolowo University (Nigeria)
Ms Ojo Victoria, Mr Akintunde Iseoluwa Christopher, Mr Tobi Adebowale
Faculty Advisor: Dr. O. A. Orifowomo


University of Pretoria, Faculty of Law (South Africa)
Ms Serena Joy Kalbskopf and Ms Petronell Kruger
Faculty Advisor: Mr. Lourens Grové


Mount Kenya University, School of Law (Kenya)
Ms Vivianne Muthoni, Mr Michael Mathini and Mr Claudius Mogunde
Faculty Advisor: Ms. Millicent Ligare

Best Memorials

Obafemi Awolowo University (Nigeria)

Best Oralist

Ms Serena Joy Kalbskopf, University of Pretoria

Semi-Final Judges

Prof. Joanne I. Gabrynowicz (USA), Director, National Center for Remote Sensing, Air and Space Law, University of Mississippi, USA
Prof. Dr Lesley Jane Smith (United Kingdom), Professor, Leuphana University Lueneburg; Partner, Weber-Steinhaus & Smith, Bremen, Germany
Dr Marco Ferrazzani (Italy), Head of Legal Department, European Space Agency and Member of the Board of the European Center for Space Law (ECSL), France
Prof. Dr Paul Dempsey (USA), Director, Institute of Air and Space Law, McGill University, Canada
Dr Bernhard Schmidt-Tedd (Germany), Head Legal Support, Space Administration, German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Final Judges

H.E. Judge Abdul Koroma, International Court of Justice
Prof. Dr Vladimir Kopal (Czech Republic), Professor, University of Pilsen, IISL Vice-President
Prof. Francis Lyall (United Kingdom), Emeritus Professor of Public Law, University of Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom, and IISL Director


Click here to download

2011 Lachs Moot Final video