2006 Lachs Moot winners

The 2006 Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition had total of 56 teams participating across all three regions, with 9 universities in North America, 10 universities in Europe and a record 40 universities in the Asia Pacific Region.

The world semi-final was held on 3 October between the Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium) and the University of Auckland (New Zealand). The world final was held on 5 October at the Supreme Court of Valencia.

The 2006 problem, Case Concerning the Sale and Operation of Certain Commercial Remote Sensing Satellites (Galatea v Thalassa), was written by Ricky J. Lee (Australia).

For more information about the competition, please visit the dedicated website at https://www.iislweb.org/lachsmoot.


University of Auckland (New Zealand)
Jonathan Orpin and James Townshend
Coached by Mr Isaac Hikaka


McGill University (Canada)
Andrew Williams, Michael Taylor and Susan Trepszynski
Coached by Prof. Ram Jakhu


Catholic University, Leuven (Belgium)
Emmanuel De Groof, Gareth Price and Batist Paklons
Coach: Dr. Walter Thiebaut

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

McGill University (Canada)

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Andrew Williams (McGill University)

Members of the International Court of Justice judging the World Finals

Judge Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone)
Judge Bernardo Sepulveda (Mexico)
Judge Peter Tomka (Slovakia)

Semi-Final Judges

Mr Steven Freeland (Australia)
Dr Olivier Ribbelink (Netherlands)
Dr Marcia Smith (United States)


Click here to download