2005 Lachs Moot winners

2005 Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

The 2005 competition has produced the largest Lachs Moot to date, with a total of 50 teams participating across all three regions, with 9 universities in North America, 10 universities in Europe and a record 31 universities in the Asia Pacific.

The world semi-final was held on 18 October between the University of Cambridge (United Kingdom) and George Washington University (United States). The world final was held on 20 October at the Seinan Gakuin University.

The 2005 problem, Case Concerning International Liability (Deltastan v Gammaland), was written by Mr. Dennis Burnett (United States).


George Washington University (United States)
Kristie Blase and Olivia Hussey
Coached by Prof. Henry Hertzfeld and Mr. Steven Mirmina


National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Kirpalani Rakesh Gopal and Joan Lim Pei Hoon
Coached by Asst. Prof. Lim Lei Theng


University of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
Daniel Bovensiepen, Chris Owen and Alessandro Turati
Coached by Prof. James Crawford

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

National University of Singapore (Singapore)

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Joan Lim Pei Hoon (National University of Singapore)

Members of the International Court of Justice judging the World Finals

Judge Hisashi Owada (Japan)
Judge Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone)
Judge Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russia)

Semi-Final Judges

Prof. Ram Jakhu (Canada)
Dr Peter van Fenema (Netherlands)
Mr K. R. Sridhara Murthi (India)


Click here to download