2000 Lachs Moot winners

2000 Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

With the creation of the Asia Pacific Regional Round, a semi-final is now held between the two lower-ranked combined scores for their memorials, with the team having the best memorials advancing directly to the world final.

The world semi-final was held on 3 October 2000 between Hamline University (United States) and the National University of Singapore. The world final was held on 5 October in the First Court of Justice of Rio. It was also decided that, from 2000, the best memorials award is to be named “Eilene M. Galloway Award for Best Memorials”, sponsored by Ms. Marcia Smith and Prof. Isabella Diederiks-Verschoor.

The 2000 problem, Case Concerning a Nuclear Powered Satellite (Homeria v San Marcos), was written by Dr Leslie Tennen and Dr John Gantt (United States).


University of Paris XI (France)
Odile Giraud, Oliver Huth and Marie Diop


Hamline University (United States)
Bryant Tchida and Allen Blair


National University of Singapore
Valerie Phua and Tan Kok Peng

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

University of Paris XI (France)

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Allen Blair (United States)

Judging the World Finals

President Gilbert Guillaume (France)
Judge Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russia)
Judge Francisco Rezek (Brazil)

Semi-Final Judges

Prof. Francis Lyall (United Kingdom)
Prof. Paul Larsen (United States)
Prof. Toshio Kosuge (Japan)