1992 Lachs Moot winners

The inaugural competition was organised by the Association of U.S. Members of the IISL and three law schools in the Washington area were invited to participate.  The final was held on 2 September 1992 at Georgetown University.  The 1992 final was unique in that both teams were from George Washington University.

The 1992 problem, Case Concerning Recovery and Return of Non-Functional Satellites (Beta v Astra), was written by Lt. Col. Kenneth Schwetje and Dr Skip Smith (U.S.).

pdf 1992 problem



Winner George Washington University (United States)
S. Alexandrov and T. H. Cohen
Runner-Up George Washington University (United States)
S. Hawk and P. Borys
Semi-Final Judges
  • H. DeSaussure
  • F. Lyall
  • R. Jakhu
  • Reynolds
Final Judges
  • Judge Manfred Lachs (Poland)
  • Judge Stephen Schwebel (United States)
  • Judge Gilbert Guillaume (France)

Lt. Col. F. Kenneth Schwetje (United States, 1947-2003)